The Florida Department of Transportation has identified three (3) areas of the State of Florida as “Areas of Critical Concern.” These three areas include twenty-eight (28) of Florida’s thirty-two (32) rural counties:

1. Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson and Liberty Counties (and a small area within Walton County)

2. Desoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands and Okeechobee Counties (and small areas within Collier and Palm Beach Counties)

3. Baker, Bradford, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Putnam, Suwannee, Taylor and Union Counties More