The 2007 Florida Commuter Choice Summit, sponsored by the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), and co-hosted by South Florida Commuter Services and University of South Florida’s Center for Urban Transportation Research (CUTR), was held on December 6 and 7, 2007 at the Pelican Grand Beach Resort in Ft. Lauderdale, FL.

The summit is an annual event that includes interactive training and lively discussion groups, presentations on Transportation Demand Management (TDM) topics, announcement of the Florida Travel Choices Award winners, and recognition of Florida’s newest ROAD SCHOLARS (Graduates of the Florida Commuter Choice Certificate program).

Travel Choices Awards

The 2007 Travel Choices honors were awarded by FDOT in the following categories:

Innovative Program Award: Award given to a Florida public transportation system, commuter assistance program, transportation management organization or other Florida entity that has designed and implemented specific public transportation-related programs that demonstrate innovative concepts or effective problem-solving techniques. The program should be of proven value and adaptable for use by others. Programs must have been implemented within the past two years and submissions should quantify results.

  • Award Recipient: Miami-Dade Transit for its Visitor Passport. This weekly transit pass allows visitors in the Greater Miami area to use public transportation throughout Miami-Dade County for $19.

Marketing Excellence Award: Award given to recognize excellence in Florida public transportation-related marketing including, but not limited to the following: advertising campaigns, electronic media, print media and special events. Marketing program must have been implemented within the past two years.

  • Award Recipient: Bay Area Commuter Services (Tampa Bay) Employer Outreach DVD. The DVD was developed to help extend outreach efforts by educating business leaders about Commuter Assistance Programs that BACS offers.

Leadership: Award given to honor a Florida individual who has made outstanding contributions to the public transportation industry. This award may be conferred upon a public transportation policy maker or private citizen who has made outstanding contributions at the local or state level to public transportation. Describe the nominee’s exceptional achievement or contributions to the advancement of the public transportation industry.

  • Award Recipient: William Mustard, The Marketing Institute at Florida State University

Complete Travel Choices Award Descriptions and Requirements

2007 Summit Presentations

Carsharing, The Green Way to Drive by Nancy Schneider, South Florida Regional Planning Council

FDOT District 4 Emergency Management by Bill Wang, P.E., District 4 Asst. Dist. Maintenance Engineer

Making the Commuter Benefits – Climate Connection by Ian Todreas, Sr. Project Manager, ERG

Sustainability: Opportunities and Challenges for Marketing TDM Programs by Jeff Horton, Executive Director, CSNF

Mercy Hospital TDM Program by Edward P. Rundle, V.P. of HR, Mercy Hospital

FDOT District 4 – Lisa Peterson, FDOT District 4 and Jim Udvardy, South Florida Commuter Services

FDOT District 6 – Ed Carson, FDOT District 6

Best Workplaces for Commuters – Phil Winters, CUTR

Leave a Reply